Kerala Biotechnology Board

The importance of Biotechnology for India is manifold. In addition to generating trained manpower and a knowledge base, India is proving to be an ideal setting for manufacturing activities and high-level biotechnology research programmes. It can bring revolutionary changes in people’s lives and provide he path way to the unexplored secrets of nature.

Government of Kerala announced its Biotechnology Policy in 2003. To achieve the vision in Biotechnology, to ensure hazzle-free implementation and to provide sustained leadership and resources, two major initiatives, Kerala Biotechnology Board and Kerala Biotechnology Commission were made in 2003. The Biotechnology Board will take all top level administrative and financial decisions to create the best environment in the state for growth of BT. The Kerala Biotechnology Commission is responsible for the implementation of the BT policy and other guidelines laid down by the Biotechnology Board

The BT policy for Kerala is designed to catalyze the development and application of BT, taking advantage of the State’s resources and emphasizing its specific needs while meeting global requirements. The policy is aimed to ensure the rapid exploitation of pipeline technologies and opportunities available in the State to products and processes and to promote the sustained build-up of an elite knowledge cadre and knowledge base through the strengthening and creation of educational and R&D institutions, establishing infrastructure and putting in place administrative, regulatory, legal and financial framework conducive for investment and growth of BT enterprises, for the economic development and human welfare.

Members of  Kerala Biotechnology Board

(Reconstituted on August 2008)

1.  Hon’ble Chief Minister of Kerala  Chairman, Biotechnology Board

2.      Hon’ble Minister for Industries, Government of Kerala

Member, Biotechnology Board

3.      Hon’ble Minster for Agriculture, Government of Kerala


4.      Hon’ble Minster for Health, Government of Kerala


5.      The Vice chairman, Kerala State Planning board

6.      The Chief Secretary, Govt. of Kerala

7.      Mr. T V Alexander, Managing Director, Kannan Devan Hill Plantation Company Pvt Ltd and Director, Tata Coffee Ltd, KDHD House, Munnar.

8.      Dr. Arun Balakrishnan, Vice President, Piramal Life Sciences, I, Nirlon Complex, Off Western Express Highway, Near NSE Complex, Goregaon(East), Mumbai-400063

9.      Prof. Nirmal Kumar Ganguly, MBBS, MD, DSc, FAMS, FNA, FNASc, FRCPath,
(Former Director General, Indian Council of Medical Research and Advisor to Department of Biotechnology-Translational Health Sciences and Technology Institute), National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi .

10.      Prof. Professor. M. Radhakrishna Pillai, FRCPath, PhD, FASc, FNASc, FAMS Director, Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology, Thiruvananthapuram .


11.      Dr. George John, Senior Advisor, Department of Biotechnology .

12.  Executive Vice President, KSCSTE, Sasthra Bhavan, Pattom, Trivandrum-4