Science and Technology Department

MISSION and VISION of the S & T Department

With a view to identify and implement programmes to achieve excellence in Science and Technology within the state and to provide service to the society at large, the Department has the following MISSION.
  • Capacity building within the academic and research institutions in the state with a view to undertake major research projects and generate innovative products, processes and to protect the intellectual property rights.
  • Enabling the R&D Centres of the Council financially and to carry out research and development in their respective areas of expertise.
  • Identification and facilitation of projects and programmes in the biotechnology sector.
  • Providing funds as grant-in-aid to select institutions as programme support for S&T activities.
  • Creating Centres of Excellence in priority areas of research in research and academic institutions within the state.
  • Augmentation of laboratory and scientific infrastructure in colleges, university departments and other research centres.
  • Nurturing young talents and promoting them to take up projects, activities, research and development in the field of S&T.
  • Promoting innovation at the grass root level and development of rural technology for the benefit of the masses.
  • Development of incubator for translational research, technology transfer and pilot scale development of industrial application and high priority areas of research.
  • Societal applications for S&T in the areas of S&T communication application of technology and S&T based entrepreneurship development.
  • Conservation, protection and management of physical environment and ecosystems, through R&D and management action plan.
To promote excellence in science and technology through learning, research and development with the participation of academia, industry and research organizations.
To benefit the society through science and technology interventions with the involvement of user agencies and beneficiaries for the improvement of infrastructure, livelihood, amenities and environment, thereby realizing sustainable development and better quality of life.

Services / Activities

Science and Technology (A) Department
     Phone: 0471-2543701–2543705

  • Matters on KSCSTE and constituent R&D Centres viz. NATPAC, CESS, TBGRI, RGCB, KFRI, CWRDM 
  • and KSOM.
  • Matters relating to MBGS and STED Project.
  • Annual Plan and Budget Estimates of the Department.
  • Miscellaneous papers of the Department.
  • KCZMA and allied matters.
  • Matters related to Wetland Cell.
  • Biotechnology Board and Commission.
  • National Green Corps.


Shri.Pinarayi Vijayan 
Chief Minister & Minister for Science & Technology
Room No: 141
3rd Floor, North Block
Phone : 0471-2333812 , 2333682
Fax : 0471-2333489
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Department of Science & Technology 3rd Floor,Sasthra Bhavan,Pattom
Thiruvananthapuram 695004
Kerala, INDIA.
Tel: ++91 + 471 2548200
Fax: ++91 + 471 2540085
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
 Dr.Suresh Das
 Ex Officio Principal Secretary 
Ph- 0471-2543557
E-MAIL- This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Other Important Officials at S & T Department  
Dr.Suresh Das

 Ex officio Principal Secretary to Government
S&T Department & 


Sri. S Rajendran Nair

Addl. Secretary to Govt. & Appellate Authority(RTI Act)

Ph: 0471-2548255

Sri.Shaiju N Lal

Under Secretary to Govt. & State Public Information Officer

Ph: 0471-2548401

Shri. L Vinod Kumar

Section Officer & Assistant State Public Information Officer

Ph: 0471-2548258

...................... Personal Secretary to Principal Secretary
Smt.Salila M Assistant Section Officer
Sri. Asok Nelson Sl. Gr.Assistant
Smt.Bindu C Sr. Gr.Assistant
Sri.Haris K S Sr. Gr.Assistant
Shri. Raiston Prakash C C Sr. Gr. Computer Assistant
Sri Manoj Babu C  Gr.I Computer Assistant
Shri. Shiju Mon K N Driver cum Office Attendant
Sri. Binu Mon K Attender
Shri. Sudarsanan S Clerical Assistant
Shri. M A Ansar Office Attendant
Shri. Manu . S Office Attendant