Workshop on Spectroscopic Techniques

Workshop on Spectroscopic TechniquesDate: 10-12 June 2016 @ Kottayam

The spectroscopic techniques employs light – matter interaction and thus probe certain features of materials to learn about its optical and spectroscopic behavior and structure. Along with theoretical background one must have a sound practical know how of different techniques to extract the required properties of different materials for technological applications.
The workshop on spectroscopic techniques is intended to impart the spirit of research in materials science and photonic applications through various advanced spectroscopic techniques. The program offers lectures on various spectroscopic characterization methods including FTIR spectroscopy, UV-Vis spectroscopy, Raman Spectroscopy, Ellipsometry and some other specified topics like nonlinear spectroscopy and applications of photonics. This workshop is expected to be highly beneficial for the researchers as it provides a platform to interact with experts in this field and to understand relative merit of the methods, operational techniques and analysis.
Who can apply      :   Msc Physics students, research scholars in physics, college teachers
Total seats            :   60.
How to Apply         :
Applications with a very  brief CV and a statement to justify the participation in conformity with the objectives may be filed on-line by filling the Online Application Below  or by sending an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . There is no Registration Fee.The program is intended mainly for final year Master students of Physics, research scholars in Physics and young faculty members of colleges/ University departments .
Accommodation: Free dormitory facility will be provided for very limited number of out-station participants.
  1. Prof. V.P.N. Namboori, CUSAT
  2. Prof. Reji Philip, Raman Research Institute, Bangalore
  3. Prof. C Vijayan, IIT Madras
  4. Prof. Unnikrishnan N.V., MG University
  5. Prof. V Unnikrishnan Nayar