





KERALA SASTHRA PURASKARAM- 2023

Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment (KSCSTE)

Sasthra Bhavan, Pattom, Thiruvananthapuram 695 004, Kerala

KERALA SASTHRA PURASKARAM- 2023

Kerala Sasthra Puraskaram is an annual award instituted by the Government of Kerala for honouring outstanding Scientists/ Technologist of Kerala origin working anywhere in the world.

SALIENT FEATURES

- The Kerala Sasthra Puraskaram is awarded to a Scientist / Technologist of Kerala origin working anywhere in the world who has made significant contribution in any branch of Science and Technology.
- The award is meant to acknowledge and appreciate decades of sustained contributions and lifetime accomplishments/achievements of Scientist / Technologist.
- The award carries prize money of Rs.2 lakh, memento and citation.
- The award is instituted to encourage quality research, training and leadership in Science, Technology and Management.

NOMINATIONS

- Self-nominations or applications will not be entertained.
- Eminent Scientists can be nominated by Fellows of National Academies of Sciences, Vice Chancellors/Directors of national scientific institutes and establishments and by eminent Scientists of national/international repute.
- Previous recipients of Kerala Sasthra Puraskaram also can nominate renowned scientists for the Award.
- The nominators please ensure the following: The Candidate must be an outstanding scientist, a good leader & organizer in S&T, a great institution builder in S&T, a national leader and role model in S&T and/ or a visionary in S&T
- Being the highest honour instituted by Govt of Kerala in the S&T sector, the nominee(s) considered for conferment of the award shall uphold the stature of the previous recipients
- Nominators may include a draft citation describing the seminal contributions of the nominee.
- KSCSTE will also consider the shortlisted nominations of previous years which were unsuccessful while considering the fresh nominations

AGE

• There is no age limit for consideration of the award.

RECIPIENTS OF KERALA SASTHRA PURASKARAM



PROF. E. C. G. SUDARSHAN (2011)

Prof. E. C. George Sudarshan was an eminent theoretical physicist and a professor at the University of Texas. Prof. Sudarshan has been credited with numerous contributions to the field of theoretical physics, including Glauber–Sudarshan P representation, V-A theory, tachyons, quantum Zeno effect, open quantum system and quantum master equations, spin–statistics theorem, non-invariance groups, positive maps of density matrices, and quantum computation.



PROF. M. S. VALIATHAN (2013)

Prof. M.S. Valiathan is an Indian cardiac surgeon. Dr. Valiathan took the lead in establishing the Sree Chithra Thirunal Institute for Science and Technology and became the first Director. He was the team leader in developing a mechanical implanting valve for Cardiology patients. The Chithra TTK valve is the fourth model that was developed over a decade of collaborative research in India. He was awarded the Padma Vibushan in 2005 for his contributions to health technology in India. He officiated as the Chairman of the State Committee for Science, Technology and Environment of the Government of Kerala and the founder Executive Vice President of KSCSTE.



PROF. M. VIJAYAN (2012)

Prof. M. Vijayan was one of the most distinguished Scientists in India, associated with the advancement of Science in Kerala for a long time. Prof. Vijayan has carried out outstanding research in the field of Structural Biology. He served as the Associate Director at Indian Institute of Science, and the President of Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi



PROF. K.P. GOPINATHAN (2014)

Prof. Gopinathan was the founder Chairman at the Centre for Genetic Engineering at Indian Institute of Science and then served as Chairman of the Microbiology and Cell Biology Department for nearly ten years. He also served as the Founder Director of the Monsanto Research Centre in India, established at the Indian Institute of Science campus. Prof. K.P. Gopinathan was the first scientist to describe a genetic and biochemical basis for the development of resistance to the potent anti-tubercular drug isoniazid. He was also intimately associated with the developments of recombinant DNA research, right from its formative days.



PROF. M. S. SWAMINATHAN (2021)

Prof. M.S. Swaminathan was an Indian agronomist, agricultural scientist, geneticist, administrator and humanitarian. He has been called the main architect of the green revolution in India for his leadership and role in introducing and further developing high-yielding varieties of wheat and rice. He has served as Director of IARI, Director General, ICAR and Secretary to the Govt. of India; Department of Agricultural research and Education; Principal Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture; Acting Deputy Chairman and later Member (Science and Agriculture), Planning Commission; Director General, IRRI Philippines; Member of Parliament of India (Rajvasabha-2007-13); Chairman, High Level Panel of Experts for the World Committee on Food Security.



PROF. THANU PADMANABHAN (2021)

Prof. Thanu Padmanabhan was an Indian theoretical physicist and cosmologist whose research spanned a wide variety of topics in gravitation, structure formation in the universe and quantum gravity. His research contributions have made a significant effect on the subject of gravitation and cosmology. He was a Distinguished Professor at Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Pune



PROF. P. K. RAMACHANDRAN NAIR (2022)

Prof. P. K. Ramachandran Nair is a distinguished Professor of Agroforestry and International Forestry at the School of Forest Resources and Conservation, University of Florida. Dr. Nair known as the Father of Agroforestry received several global recognition to the science of agroforestry. His areas of research interest include: agroforestry in the tropics and subtropics, integrated farming systems, soil carbon sequestration and climate change mitigation, ecosystem services, and soil fertility management.

SELECTION COMMITTEE

A committee consisting of eminent Scientists from leading Science and Technology Institutions in the country will be constituted for the adjudication of the award .

HOW TO APPLY

Nomination Proforma and Annexure are available in the official website www.kscste.kerala.gov.in.

Last date of receipt of nominations: **30th June 2024.**

Duly completed Nomination Proforma and Annexure may be sent as registered speed post, in the following address and e-mail.

The Executive Vice President Kerala State Council for Science, Technology & Environment



Sasthra Bhavan, Pattom, Thiruvananthapuram 695 004, Kerala E-mail: keralasasthrapuraskaram2023@gmail.com Website: www.kscste.kerala.gov.in