Kerala State Young Scientist Award (KSYSA)

Kerala State Council for Science, Technology & Environment has announced the Kerala State Young Scientist Awards (KSYSA) to four talented Young Scientists in recognition of their outstanding contribution in Science & Technology.

1	Dr. Niladri Sekhar Chatterjee Scientist Biochemistry & Nutrition Division ICAR- Central Institute of Fisheries Technology W. Island, Kochi.
2	Dr. Anoop C. S. Associate Professor Dept. of Avionics, Indian Institute of Space Science & Technology Valiamala, Thiruvananthapuram.
3	Dr. Jayanarayanan C. R. Assistant Professor Dept. of Mathematics Indian Institute of Technology Ahalia Integrated Campus, Palakkad.
4	Dr. A. M. Ramiya Assistant Professor Dept. of Earth & Space Sciences Indian Institute of Space Science & Technology, Valiamala, Thiruvananthapuram.

The Award carries cash award of Rs. 50,000/-, Chief Minister's Gold Medal, research grant up to Rs. 50 lakh and travel support for a visit abroad for presenting the research work at a conference.

The Award will be given by the Hon'ble Chief Minister of Kerala on the 10th February 2022 during the inaugural session of the 34th Kerala Science Congress at Mar Ivanios College, Thiruvananthapuram.

KSCSTE - Kerala State Young Scientist Awardees -2021

Dr. Niladri Sekhar Chatterjee
 Biochemistry and Nutrition Division
 Central Institute of Fisheries Technology
 Kochi.

His research is focused on fisheries value chain, particularly on high value nutraceutical, functional food development from aquatic resources and food safety aspects of fisheries value chain. He has developed a series of chitosan derivatives use green chemistry principles to modulate antioxidant, antimicrobial, and emulsification ability. He has also developed a novel biorefinery process in which supercritical fluid extraction and enzymatic extraction was integrated for extraction of fucoidan, fucoxanthin and polyphenolic compounds from brown seaweed and the technology for extraction of Fucoidan has been transferred to a PVT company.

2. Dr. Anoop C. S.

Associate professor, Department of Avionics Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST) Thiruvananthapuram.

He received the B. Tech degree in applied electronics and instrumentation from the college of engineering, Trivandrum, in 2008, and the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from IIT Madras, in 2014. He was an engineer at NSN, Bengaluru from 2008 to 2010 and an assistant professor at the department of electrical engineering, IIT Kharagpur, from 2014 to 2016.

He is having contributions in the areas including magnetic sensors, interface electronics for sensors, instrumentation systems for space payloads and automotive scenarios, chaotic electronic systems, etc. He has published more than 65 technical articles in reputed international journals and conferences, and filed a patent.

3. Dr. Jayanarayanan C.R. Assistant Professor Indian Institute of Technology Palakkad. His broad area of interest is functional analysis. He works mainly on the best approximation problems in Banach spaces and its connections with certain differentiability and polyhedrality concepts to explore the continuity properties of metric projections in Banach spaces, especially in Lindenstrauss spaces and in the space of operators on Banach spaces.

4. Dr A M Ramiya

Assistant Professor Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST) Valiamala, Trivandrum

Her research is in the area of Geospatial Science and Technology with a focus on LiDAR Remote Sensing. Her research has been focussed on employing advanced machine learning techniques to develop open algorithms and methodologies for automated processing of LiDAR point cloud for applications related to urban, agriculture, cultural heritage and forestry.