Guidelines for the KERALA STATE YOUNG SCIENTIST AWARD

Name of the Award: Kerala State Young Scientist Award.

Scope: The Kerala State Young Scientist Awards by the KSCSTE are intended to honour talented young Scientists in recognition of their outstanding contributions in any branch of science and technology coming within the purview of the Council. The research carried out independently in Kerala by young scientists of Indian origin with Ph.D. in any branch of Science& Technology who is working in Kerala for the last three years will be taken into consideration for the award.

Number of Awards: The number of awards made in each year will be limited to 14. Awards will not be shared.

Eligibility: Age: 37 years as on 31st December, 2023(Nominees with date of birth on or after 31-12-1986 are eligible)

Qualification: Ph.D. with 3 years Post-Doctoral experience

Experience: Working experience in any R&D/Academic institution in Kerala continuously for the last 3 years.

Nomination Procedure:

Candidates may be nominated by Vice-Chancellors of Universities in Kerala, Directors of Research Institutes/ R & D Centres of Industries, Heads of University Departments, Principals of Colleges with approved centres of research, Fellows of the Indian National Science Academy, Indian Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Sciences, India, Indian National Academy of Engineering and Indian Academy of Agricultural Sciences.

Nominations will be valid for 3 years or the eligibility age whichever is earlier. However, a fresh nomination (only once) can be made, if the nominee has not yet crossed the age bar. Nominations in the prescribed format along with all supporting documents must reach the **Director, KSCSTE**, **Sasthra Bhavan, Pattom P.O., Thiruvananthapuram – 695 004** latest by 15th October 2023.

Nominations which are not complete or received after the due date will not be considered.

Selection Procedure

Candidates recommended by the screening committee after a rigorous criteria-based screening will be invited for presentation of their research work. The candidates will be informed of their selection for the award individually by mail. The awards will be distributed during the inaugural session of the Kerala Science Congress by the Chief Minister. The Awardees have to make a presentation of the award-winning work in the Plenary Session of the Kerala Science Congress.

Cash Prize, Research & Travel Grant

Each Awardee will be presented with a certificate, Chief Minister's Gold Medal and a cash prize of Rs. 50,000/-. In addition, the recipient may be considered by the Council for a research grant after due consideration of the research project with the help of an expert committee. **The awardee has to submit the research project during the month of August of the award year.** The Awardee, within 3 years of the receipt of the award, will be considered for a visit abroad for presenting the research work at a conference.

SUBJECT COMMITTEES

- 1. Subject Committee I Mathematical Sciences Pure Mathematics, Applied Mathematics, Theoretical Computer Science, Statistics
- 2. Subject Committee II Physics

Astronomy, Astrophysics, Condensed Matter Physics, Nuclear and High Energy Physics, Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics, Statistical Physics, Space Physics

- 3. Subject Committee III- Chemical Sciences Analytical, Inorganic, Organic, Physical and Theoretical Chemistry
- 4. Subject Committee IV Earth & Planetary Sciences Surface and Solid Earth Science, Atmospheric Science, Ocean Science and Planetary Science
- Subject Committee V Engineering Sciences & Technology Electronics, Electrical, Mechanical, Chemical, Civil, Aeronautical, Telecommunication and other branches of Engineering, Computer and Information Sciences and Technology Development
- Subject Committee VI Materials Science Materials including composites, Nano Materials, Biomaterials, Materials chemistry and Materials Engineering
- 7. Subject Committee VII -Plant Sciences Taxonomy, Structure, Function, Physiology, Development, Genetics, Ecology and Evolution of Plants
- Subject Committee VIII Animal Sciences Taxonomy, Structure, Function, Physiology, Development, Genetics, Ecology Behaviour and Evolution of Animals
- Subject Committee IX Microbiology and Immunology Biology of viruses, Bacteria and Parasites, Microbial Genetics and Genomics, Immunology
- 10. Subject Committee X- Cell and Biomolecular Sciences Biochemistry, Biophysics, cell Biology, Molecular Biology, Structural Biology, Bioinformatics, Systems Biology, Biotechnology
- 11. Subject Committee XI Health Sciences Basic and Clinical Medical Sciences, Anthropology, Psychology, Human Genetics, Public Health, Nutrition
- 12. Subject Committee XII- Agricultural Sciences & Forestry Agriculture, Horticulture, Fisheries, Veterinary Science, Agriculture Engineering
- **13. Subject Committee XIII** Science Teaching and Science Education
- **14. Subject Committee XIV** Regional Science & Science Policy

(The Subject committee may forward the nominations to another committee whenever appropriate)