Dr. S. Vasudev Award

Dr. S. Vasudev Award is a prestigious award instituted by the KSCSTE in memory of Dr.S.Vasudev, former Chairman of Science, Technology and Environment Committee(STEC) for the best project completed under the Science Research Scheme(SRS) of KSCSTE. SRS is the flagship scheme of the Council, aims towards promotion of R&D activities in the State both in fundamental and applied research. Final Technical Report (FTR) of the completed SRS projects will be processed for Dr. S. Vasudev Award.

Year Name & Address of Principal Investigator                Project Title
2006 Dr. M. Indira
Dept. of Biochemistry
University of Kerala
Studies on the effect of administration of Cassava rich diet and alcohol
Dr. K. D. Prathapan
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Entomology,
Kerala Agricultural University, Vellayani, Thiruvananthapuram
Systematic studies on fleabeetles (Coleoptera: Chrysomelidae: Alticinae) infesting Piperaceae in Kerala
2008 Dr. Sam Solomon
Dept of Physics, St. Johns College,
Anchal, Kollam
Rare earth titanium niobate and tantalite dielectric resonators for communication systems
2009 Dr. Laly A Pothen
Selection Grade Lecturer
Department of Chemistry Bishop Moore College Mavelikkara
Development of chemically modified bio fibre composites and their applications
2010 Dr. P. Vinod
Asst. Professor
Dept. of Civil Engineering College of Engineering
Studies on improving the engineering behavior of Kuttanad clay using preloading technique
2011 Dr. P. Mohanan
Dept. of Electronics , CUSAT, Cochin
Compact dual band dielectric resonator for mobile phone antenna with reduced radiation hazards
2012 Dr. E. A. Siril
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Botany, University of Kerala, Karyavattom, Thiruvananthapuram
Evaluation and propagation of Annatto (Bixa orellana L.)- A food dye yielding plant
2013 Dr. K. D. Prathapan
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Entomology
Kerala Agricultural University, Vellayani ,Thiruvananthapuram
Studies on host plants of flea beetles (Coleoptera: Chrysomelide: Alticinae) in south India
2014 Dr. Lizymol P.P
Scientist D,
Dental Products Laboratory,
Biomedical Technology Wing, SCTIMST, Poojappura, Thiruvananthapuram
Development of smart dental composites consist of calcium containing resins and fillers
2015 Dr. T. T. Sreelekha
Scientific Officer Gr-1
Division of Cancer Research, RCC, Thiruvananthapuram
Preparation and characterization of nanoparticles from antitumor polysaccharide PST001 and elucidation of its pharmacokinetics
2016 Dr. G. Anilkumar
Associate Professor
School of Chemical Sciences
Mahatma Gandhi University
Kottayam – 686 560
Copper-catalyzed C-C, C-O and C-S bond formations using N and O containing bidentate ligands
2017 Dr. A. Gangaprasad
Assistant Professor Dept. of Botany, University of Kerala,
Kariavattom, Thiruvananthapuram
Conservation strategies and in vitro production of anthraquinones in Gynochthodes umbellata (L.) Razafim. & B. Bremer (Rubiaceae) – a potential dye yielding plant
2018 Dr. M. K. Jayaraj
Professor, Department of
Physics, Cochin University
of Science and Technology,
Growth of carbon nanotubes for transparent elec
2019 Dr. N. Sandhyarani
School of Material Science and Engineering
National Institute of Technology
Synthesis of novel electro-catalytic nanoparticles and nano composites for fuel cell applications
2020 Dr. Thomas. V. P.
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Botany, Catholicate College, Pathanamthitta
Ethnobotanical studies on Zingiberaceae of Kerala
2021 Dr. M. K. Ravi Varma
Dept. of Physics
NIT Calicut
A multi-wavelength Integrating Nephelometer for Characterizing Tropospheric Aerosol
2022 Dr. E. A. Siril
Professor, Dept. of Botany, University of Kerala

Dr. A. Gangaprasad
Professor, Dept. of Botany, University of Kerala

Collection, characterization and propagation of Garcinia gummi-gutta (L.) Robs.


Final Technical Report (FTR) of SRS project submitted within the stipulated period will be directly considered for Dr. S. Vasudev Award.

  • The Award carries certificate with citation and prize money of Rs. 50,000/-.
  • Recognition and benefits of Dr. S. Vasudev Award will be equally shared among all the people involved in executing the project.
  • The award will be presented by the Hon’ble Chief Minister during the inaugural session of Kerala Science Congress.
  • The Final Technical Report (FTR) of the project should be submitted within 6 months of the completion of the SRS project period.
  • The PI should have publications in peer reviewed journals from the research project.

The Head
Science & Technology Promotion Division (STPD)
Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment (KSCSTE)
Sasthra Bhavan, Pattom, Thiruvananthapuram – 695 004
Tel: +91 -471 -2548214
E-mail: stpd.kscste@kerala.gov.in